Month: July 2004

  • Question of the Day:

    to fart, or not to fart?


    You're hanging out with your girlfriend and you're as comfortable as can be.  Or are you?  All of a sudden, you feel a low rumbling in your stomach and you realize that an imminent upheaval of gastro-intestinal fumes looms threateningly on the horizon.  What to do? Let it fly? Hold it in until you're bursting at the seams? A flurry of thoughts run through your head: to fart, or not to fart?  Will she get disgusted?  Is it really that big of a deal?  Worse yet, exactly how noxious will the gaseous product be? You decide to hold it back only to have a surprise silent attack foil your game plan; crap! You've just opened the floodgates to an entirely new perspective on your relationship: the comfort zone.  Will you be a man and take it in stride?  Or will you wimp out like the coward you are?  You take a deep breath (damn that smells) look her straight in the eye, and say,


    "The dog did it"


    Sissy,


    (next weeks episode, How many licks does it take to get to the Tootsie Roll center of a Tootisie Pop?)

  • Event Recap:

    Friday, July 16th
    Mission Viejo, Orange County Fair


    Started off the night meeting Kaitlin over at The Cheescake Factory at Mission Viejo and I'll never get tired of going to that place.  The wait is long to get a seat but the food is so worth it.



    I noticed I take a lot of pictures of food now........heheheh remember "live to eat, not eat to live"   I ended up getting the Lousiana Chicken Pasta and I'd recommend this dish to anyone. 


    After dinner Kaitlin & I headed over to the Orange County Fair for rides, expensive food, carnival games, & farm animals.  I remember going with my parents & family to the OC Fair when I was a little kid and whenever I go it always brings back fond memories of simpler times. 

    Kaitlin really likes cows by the way

    While I'm on a ride I'm thinking of nothing but "oh jeez I hope I don't barf" or "wow my head's spinning."  I forget all about my computer, bills, problems, work, girls and just live in the moment.  I found myself screaming and laughing like a little kid and I wouldn't give up that for anything in the world.  I hope I never grow old inside.....


    I think I'm a little more excited in that first picture


    Here is stuffed animal I "won" last night.  The other picture is of Kaitlin helping me cheat at the dart game to win

  • Adventures of the Filthy Foursome:

    The Tale of the Daulhouse
    written by Nympho (Lan Nguyen)

    If you look real closely you can see two people standing in the window immediately to the right of the door.

    So on the filthy foursome's second adventure we decided to visit the Daulhouse.  From what I've heard the story behind the house goes as follows:  A family lived here a several years ago and while the dad was gone away on a trip the mom goes crazy and kills all their children.  The dad comes home to find his wife and decides to cover up the murder rather than let his wife go to jail.  They chop up the kids and embed the bodies into cement blocks that were used to build the home.

    Eric (The Ho), Megan (The Whore), Laura (Queen Bee J), & I (Nympho) decided to go with our special guest Jon to the house last night.  This house is located at the end of a cul da sac and is on a street in old Irvine.  The thing is this particular home's construction is completly eschew of the surrounding neighborhood.  Large walls keep it seperated from the homes around it and I have to say being near the house made my heart skip several beats.  The trick of the house is you are supposed to lay your ear against the stone rocks of the home and you can then hear the silent screams of the deceased children....


    Hand print we saw back at Laura's Apt

    P.S.  What I didn't tell the rest of the group was that night while I was walking up to the house I noticed something moving in the window next to the front door; at the time I figured it was my imagination just playing tricks on me.  After looking over the pictures I'd taken of the house, I noticed two figures in the same window that drew my attention the night before.

  • Event Recap:

    Ok I think this is my last recap because these things are getting way to long.  I'm going to try and be good and update daily.  We'll see how that goes....  I wish I had that gadget that Hermione had in the latest Harry Potter movie that let her travel through time.





    Wednesday, June 31st
    Irvine/Anaheim, CA


    After running into Joanne last week we made plans to hang out tonight to catch up.  I haven't seen her in almost a year and was looking forward to this night.  After work I jet over to her apartment and we decide to head over to Olive Garden.  I ended up getting Fettuccini w/ Sun Dried Tomato Sauce and Joanne ended up getting the Cheese Ravioli, both excellent dishes.  I love Italian food.  =P


    Afterwards we headed over to Downtown Disney and just walked around and at 9:30pm we were able to watch the fireworks from Disneyland.  I had a great time and its cool how some people you can just click with.  We probably won't be hanging out again for some time because she is so busy but I'm glad we were able to catch up.





    Thursday, July 1st
    Irvine, CA


    Had dinner w/ my friend Jacqueline tonight and to save some time she decided to drop by my office.  I think it's always fun to have friends drop by the office or especially when a coworker brings their baby/kid to work.  It always brightens the office and breaks up the monotony of the day.

    Here's Jackie at my office and my rice patty hat


    We decided to head over to BJ's get a pizza and have a little picnic over at a park by my work.  It was my treat because she just got a job as an anchor on an all asian produced and run newscast on Channel 22.  I'm so proud of her because I remember when she used to be so shy and deathly afraid of public speaking.  It's amazing to see how she's grown and for that fact how many of my friends have grown over the past several years.


    Random pictures from the night.  =)

    After dropping off Jacqueline I headed over to a baseball field to meet up my company for our weekly softball game.  We lost by one run, but it's always fun to hang out with my coworkers and make fun of everyone while they're playing. =P

    Here is a picture of my cool coworker Nicole....in her own words "First White Girl on My Xanga"


    Here is a picture of my dumbass coworker Chris  The other picture is a funny t-shirt my coworker made me that says "Lan Mower" on the back.




    Friday, July 2nd
    Warped Tour, Fullerton, CA

    Warped Tour by far was the highlight of my weekend.  I took the day off from work and headed over with Jon, Eric, Eileen, Megan, & Larry to my very first real concert experience. 

    Heheh Eileen said this was the best birthday present she got she thinks =P


    The first band we got to watch was New Found Glory and during their set I think I surprised Larry.  While we were in the crowd watching I started giving Larry my cell phone, wallet, & digital camera.  He looks at me with this weird face and I just turn and run head first into the mosh pit.  It was pandemonium in there and a great way to release some tension and angst.


    The bands that we got to see that I liked were New Found Glory, Alkaline Trio, Coheed, Story Of The Year, Vandals, Bad Religion, & Yellowcard.  My first love has always been hip-hop but it was nice exposing myself to a little bit of rock and some bands I've never even heard before.


    Besides having my first experience in a mosh pit the other first I had was crowd surfing.  This was a complete rush eventhough the first time I tried I got dropped on my ass.  OUCH!!! I vowed at the beginning of the day to get all the way to the security at the front of the stage.  During Bad Religion all of us were about 10-15 feet from the stage and stuck in the deepest parts of the pit.  While everyone was trying to take a quick exit out the side of the crowd I decided to tap a big guy on the shoulder and pointed to the sky.  He put his hands under my foot and launched me onto the crowd.  It was so amazing getting to the front of the stage and I felt like I just ran a marathon walking out to meet my friends.  Complete rush and I hope I get another chance to crowd surf this summer.




    Pictures from Warped Tour 2004, CSUF



    Saturday, July 3rd
    Home/Irvine, Fullerton, CA


    Woohoo, I got a hamster everyone!!!  If you guys didn't know my dog Princess passed away several months ago and the family has been debating about getting a new dog for months.  In the mean time I decided to get some hamsters to hold me over.

    Vanilla (Left) & Coco (Right)               Coco sleeping in his new house.



    Vanilla sure does like to eat               Vanilla trying to work off all she ate.


    Later that night headed over to Eileen's for her birthday Price Is Right Party.  It was cool she had name tags for everyone and even had price is right games.  I think the most fun of the night was answering the question "What has Eileen never done....." and before they could finish the question I blurted out "Sex" hahhah they let me advance anyways. 

    Here's Happy/Sad Eileen after Rashmi, Jessica, & I pied her.



    Hahah Laura's name tag says (Queen BJ) and mine says (Nympho)


    Afterwards we played this game similar to Indian Poker where you put a name on your forehead and ask questions to guess your character.  I played a trick on Eileen.....




    Sunday, July 4th
    Los Angeles/Corona Del Mar, Fullerton, CA


    Happy Independence Day Everyone!  My sister and her husband came to visit from Arizona so we decided to head out to Chinatown do a little shopping and have lunch.


    I think over the past several months I've grown closer to my family and I've begun calling my sisters in Boston & Phoenix more often.  I wish they lived closer but I have my life out here and they are still defining theirs also.


    Later that night I headed out to Corona Del Mar for Rob's 4th of July/Birthday bonfire.  It was cool being at the beach on a nice summer day eating smoors and watching the fireworks from the sand.  All & all pretty chill 4th of July.


    (P.S. It's weird who you run into sometimes and things you forget......)




    Monday, July 5th
    Anime Expo, Anaheim, CA


    This was my first year going to Anime Expo and it was a trip.  Met up with Ferdinand, John, & Eric and we headed out to the Anaheim Convention Center.  Thanks to Dennis Portugal for getting in for free my new name is Koji Tajii .  It was cool we watched about 2 hours worth of Anime Music Videos when we got there and some of them were hilarious.


    Afterwards we had a chance to walk around the show and check out the people dressed up in cosplay (costumes).



    Random Pictures from Anime Expo 2004.




    Tuesday, July 6th
    Westminster/Pasadena, CA


    Hung out with my cool friend Trang Tran real quick at Barnes & Nobles.  She's studying for MCAT's this summer and I wish her the best of luck.

    Still trying out the black & white photos, kinda cool


    Afterwards I drove up to Pasadena and took out Helen to congratulate her on getting a job as a teacher in LAUSD.  We headed out to Paseo Colorodo and had dinner at Tokyo Wako.  It was great hanging out with her again and I can't believe it's been 3 years since we first became friends and now she's a teacher.

    TOKYO WAKO!!!!!!!!!                     Uhmmmmmm.....Wako Scorpion Drink



    So Many Sushi Rolls                            Helen & I =)

    It's been a very long week and I hope over the next week I can relax a little and finally get a chance to stay home and read Angels & Demons, by Dan Brown.....ahhhhh who can complain though I have an amazing family & great friends; I'll never turn down hanging out with either.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories