October 25, 2006

  • Event Recap:

    Nintendo Fusion Tour, The Grove of Anaheim
    October 24th, 2006



    Background:

    The Nintendo Fusion Tour blends the best of hot new music and the coolest new video games. This year Nintendo had something special in store for attendees and had playable Nintendo Wii systems hooked up and ready to play.

    Hawthorne Heights is headlining the 2006 Nintendo Fusion Tour, with support from Relient K, Emery, Plain White T’s and The Sleeping.


    The Grove of Anaheim, 22nd Stop on the Nintendo Fusion Tour


    The Nintendo Wii:



    As many of you may or may not know Nintendo is set to release their newest video game console on November 19th, 2006 called the Nintendo Wii.  Well everyone has been dying to get their hands on one to try out one of it’s newest most revolutionary features, the Nintendo Wiimote (See Below).  The greatest thing about this new controller is that it’s completely motion sensitive.


    The Wiimote <3

    So as you walk in the venue you are greeted by the site of about 15 LCD screens hooked up to Nintendo Wiis and smiles all over the place.  Some of the games that were playable were Zelda: Twilight Princess, Wii Sports, Tony Hawk, & Wario Ware.

    Any time during the concert you were allowed to line up and play as long as you wanted.  The lines were a little long so I ended up deciding to try just two games: Wii Tennis and Wario Ware: Smooth Moves.

    The first game I had a chance to play was Wario Ware: Smooth Moves and having had a chance to play many video games over the years I have to say this shit was a blast to play.  You find your self gyrating your hips to emulate hula hopping, waiving your hands in the air to hit flys on the screen, & using the controller as a steering wheel to try to drive down a curvy road.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but I have to say with the right friends over and some drinks this game will be a blast to play at home.



    After I had to stretch my legs out a little bit it was time to head over to another line to try out some multi-player action with my friend Michelle.  We had a chance to play Wii-Tennis and quell my ultra-competitive spirit.  Lets just say there is a reason there is only video of the first game in the match and not the other two games.  (It’s not my fault, she played Varsity in High School)


    At least I won the first match. 


    The Concert:



    I have to say the line up was pretty good even though I didn’t know several of the bands.  The band I was really there to see was the Plain White T’s.  My friend Michelle introduced me to them several months ago and they are honestly one of my favorite bands now.  They are a little punk-pop and after seeing them in person I have that much more respect for them.

    It’s kinda funny but the band really doesn’t just sell Plain White T’s (Har, Har, Har)


    Tom Higgenson, Dave Tirio, & Mike Retondo


    Plain White T’s playing Hey There Delilah.


    Plain White T’s playing Hate from their new CD

    Rating the other bands:
    Sleeping – 3 out of 5
    Relient K – 4 out of 5 (Time to limeware that shit!)
    Emery – Missed them because I was playing the Wii, but I heard they were good
    Hawthorne Heights – 4 out of 5


    Hawthorne Heights



    Recap:

    I have to say this was one of the more interesting concerts I’ve been into my life.  I’ll probably end up trying to come out to Nintendo Fusion Tour 2007 because of the good mix of music, alcohol, & games.



    For those of you who take the time really check out the Plain White T’s.  Seeing how much the enjoyed themselves up on stage makes me respect their music even more.

    Now on to the Wii, I’m not sure how it will fair exactly against the PS3 or Xbox 360 but my initial impression is that it’ll be a crap load of fun and I could probably even get my sisters and dad to play along too.  With the right marketing it could definitely do well in the next generation of gaming.


    All bow down to your new master.



    Something Extra:

    I was hoping to come away from the night with something more than just pictures and good memories and I got it.  Below is a picture of the drum head I got signed by the members of the Plain White T’s. 


Comments (26)

  • Nintendo seems to be the most exciting system so far.

  • long time dude!

  • OMG you look SO FUNNY with that Wii!!! I wish I woulda been there

  • omg they came to philly and i missed the show!!!!!!! i was so upset. i wanted to see plain white t’s soo bad and also reliant k!

  • OMG they played “Hey there Delilah” and “Hate”??? What the fuck, I missed out!!! Next time, screw homework! =P Glad you had a blast, I can’t wait to play some Mario when the Wii comes out =) Btw, have I told you yet that I’m gonna steal your drum head?

  • looks really cool

  • did you play twilight princess? that game is going to be so SICK.

  • :goodjob: you lucky sonnovabitach~ ive wanted to try my hands on the wii for a while now! all youve done is make the craving even stronger~

  • that line up would b a dream in singapore. yes, only a dream. le sigh~ lucky lucky youuuu!

  • i said WIiIIIiIIIIIiIIIiIII!!!!!!!!!!

    Me: Mom, I’m gonna go over to Lan’s place and play with is Wii -__-

  • I don’t remember the grove looking like that…

    But that sure did look fun.

    And you’re lucky to get to try the Wii.

    Lemme know the plans for halloween for you thus far.

    Halloween night is prolly gonna be west hollywood for I.
    Don’t know what’s going on on Sat yet.

  • I have some game developers friends and they say they’ve been having problems porting PC games and stuff to the PS3 but not on the 360 and that though some of the Wii games are great, most of them get redundant after you get over the initial wow of the remote, but I guess only time will tell

  • sounds like you had a lot of fun! :)

    in response to your message you sent your subscribers…i met you through cki the end of my 1st year at uci .. and then you started to come over to my apt a lot, hahahaha .. and we became great friends! :)

  • You went? I think I saw you on T.V (not) pretty cool though!

  • cool site – random eProps

    If you from NYC area Check out this hip hop event and feel free to show to your friends who you think might be interested~

    http://nyhhdc.com

  • omgggg i want a wiiiiiiii when did they say it was coming out?

  • so its released on the 19th? meaning it will be in stores? >< guess i’ll have to wait already preordered the ps3….

  • oh lan, you are so lucky. :( wish i could have been there. :sunny:

  • PS3….when it’s $300

  • good bumping into u lan! hehehe!

  • hey happy halloween ~ (little late tho lolz)

    Yeh I live in Socal. But I’m leaving for japan on the 4th. Gonna go there for 1 year ~ if u ever come out there let me know xxoo

  • PD = Palm Desert. LOL….

  • wow… nintendo fusion tour? i think my little brother would have crapped his pants. i, on the other hand, think the last time i played a nintendo anything was for tetris.

    thanks for the birthday wishes!! much appreciated.

  • yeah .. i was debating about whether to use friends lock or not. But i really can’t stand some ppl coming to my page just to gossip about my life. I’m still willing to add anyone that wants to view my page but at least this way I can control who does and who doesn’t ~

    Anyway, have a good weekend! xxoo

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories